National Paperless Moot Court Competition 2017 on ‘Triple Talaq’

The 2nd Unique National Paperless Moot Court Competition 2017 on ‘Triple Talaq’, which was inaugurated by Sh. Abhishek Phutela, Chief Judicial Magistrate-cum-Secretary, District Legal Services Authority, Gurugram on 3rd March at the SGT University, Gurugram Concluded on 5th March, 2017. The three-day national competition was organized by the SGT University in association with the Indian National Bar Association (INBA).18 teams from law school across the country participated in this competition. The preliminary round had two stages. In the first stage each team contested its case from the petitioner’s side and in the second stage from the respondent’s side. After the first round 8 teams were selected to participate in the quarter final round. Four teams were selected for the semi-finals and subsequently the finals. The Semi-final round was adjudged by Sh. Jasbir Singh Bajaj(I.A.S.), Principal Resident Commissioner,  Tamil Nadu House, Sh. Sanjay Pandey, Special Secretary to Finance Minister Govt. of India, Ms. Shweta Bharti,Senior Partner, Hammurabi & Solomon and Shine Joy, Senior Legal Counsel. The Final Round was adjudged by Hon’ble Justice Sangita Dhingra Sehgal, Judge, Delhi High Court & Hon’ble Justice Jayant Nath, Judge, Delhi High Court. Awards were granted in the following categories: Winner: Amity Law School, Delhi. Runner up: Law Centre – II,Delhi University. Best Advocate (Male): Jasdeep Singh Chawla – Law Centre- II, Delhi University. Best Advocate (Female): Rishika Jain, Jamia Millia Islamia. Best Researcher: Kartik Malhotra, Campus Law Centre, Delhi University,Best Memorial: JIMS, Greater Noida